Monday, 27 May 2024.

Top 5 This Week

Related News

Gov Otu announces N10,000, 2-day off for workers, tuition-free for schools

By Frank Ulom

In other to cushion the effect of the removal fuel subsidy by President Bola Tinubu in May, Governor Bassey Otu has announced palliatives for workers in Cross River State.

The palliatives include payment of N10,000 monthly stipend for all workers for the next 6 months, and 2 days off for workers from level 13 and below.

“The State Government is not ignorant of the hardship its citizens are passing through occasioned by the fuel subsidy removal.

“In order to cushion the effect of this unpleasant situation, the government has added hardship allowance for all civil servants in the State. The allowance will be N10,000 monthly for the next 6 months which will commence this September”, Otu said.

He added “There will be reduction of working days for civil servants on Level 13 and below from 5 to 3 days per week. From Level 14 and above who will still be expected to work for the usual 5 days a week, a monthly stipend will be added to their salaries.”

Governor Otu stated this while briefing the press on Friday (September 8) at the Temporary Government House, Dan Archibong Lodge, Calabar.

He also harped on the registration of tuition-free for public primary and secondary schools and payment of exam fees for SSCE students.

“Free tuition will be reinstated for all primary and secondary schools. There will be payment of examination fees for SSCE (WAEC) students,” Otu said.

He also said, ” Reduced transportation scheme is about to be introduced in designated routes in the State. Subsidised ticketing for all commercial vehicles operating within the State capital is in place, thereby reducing the fares by 50%.”

The Governor also stated that: “Government has also approved free antenatal care and delivery for pregnant women across the State in all State-owned hospitals.

“Free medical treatment for children under the age of 5 and the elderly.”

Governor Otu also constituted the “Palliatives Distribution Committee” as follows:

1. Prof. Anthony Owan-Enoh, Secretary to the State Government (SSG) – Chairman

2. Hon. Emmanuel Irobar, Chief of Staff – Member

3. Mr Mike Odere, Commissioner for Finance – Member

4. Dr Helen Isamoh, Commissioner for Humanitarian Affairs – Member

5. Bishop Margaret Ene-Ita, Commissioner for Social Welfare – Member

6. Hon. Erasmus Ekpang, Commissioner for Information – Member

7. Maj. Gen. Obono Okoi Ubi (Rtd), State Security Adviser – Member

8. Comrade Olayi Grefory, Chairman NLC – Member

9. Comrade Monday Ogbodum, Chairman TUC – Member

10. Barr. Ekpenyong Akiba, Special Adviser, General Duties – Member

11. Mrs Angela Odey, DG SEMA – Member

13. Mr Esoso Anah Esoso – Member

14. Barr. John Orim Mr. Peter Akpere – Member

15. NACRISS President – Member

16. Representative of Traditional Rulers – Member

17. Representative of the Religious Organisations – Member

Frank Ulom
Frank Ulom
Frank Ulom is an experienced Journalist, Blogger and Writer with several years of experience. His stories are based on community development and have brought positive change across board.

Latest News