Friday, 24 May 2024.

Top 5 This Week

Related News

C’River Assembly confirms nominees of Civil Service Commission

The Cross River State House of Assembly has confirmed Governor Bassey Otu’s nominees for appointment as Chairman and members of the State Civil Service Commission.

The confirmation of the Chairman and members of the Civil Service Commission was held on Friday at the Chambers of the Assembly.

Speaking shortly after the confirmation, the Speaker of the House, Rt. Hon. Elvert Ayambem, described the nomination as “apt and a welcomed development.”

Ayambem commended the Governor for choosing a seasoned, retired civil servant, Sir Maurice Effiwatt as Chairman of the Commission, adding that, “with his wealth of experience, the Commission will not repeat the mistakes of the former members who were recently removed.”

In the same vein, majority of the Lawmakers who spoke described the nominees as people of integrity with the requisite knowledge. They expressed confidence that the new Commissioners will excel in their assignment.

Earlier, the Chairman of the House Committee on Judiciary, Public Service Matters, Public Petitions and Conflict Resolution, Rt. Hon. Davies Etta, presented a report of the Committee’s screening of the nominees as mandated by the House.

READ ALSO: EFCC arrests 44 suspected internet fraudsters in Calabar

Etta disclosed that the Committee authenticated the nominees’ documents and asked them questions on burning issues within the State’s Public/Civil Service. He further explained that the nominees were recommended for confirmation because they all performed satisfactorily at their screening held on the 3rd and 6th of May 2024.

He explained that; “The Governor’s nominations are in total consonance with sections 198 as well as 14(4) of the 1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria (as altered) and commended the Governor for respecting the Rule of Law.”

The nominees that were confirmed included, Sir Maurice Effiwatt who is to serve as chairman, while Rev. Princess Henrietta Henshaw, Mr Onabe Thomas Bisong, Mr Friday Ntaji Udo and Dr Adigeb, Janet Alorye are to serve as Commissioners.

In a chat with journalists shortly after the confirmation, the Chairman, Sir Maurice Effiwatt thanked the Governor for the appointment. He assured that the new Commission will be fair and transparent.

“Having worked in the State service for 35 years and retired, l will use my wealth of experience to ensure that we put in place a system that is fair and transparent for all Cross Riverians,” he said.

Frank Ulom
Frank Ulom
Frank Ulom is an experienced Journalist, Blogger and Writer with several years of experience. His stories are based on community development and have brought positive change across board.

Latest News