Tuesday, 9 July 2024.

Top 5 This Week

Related News

Tinubu retires Service Chiefs, IGP, appoints new Officers, SAs

President Bola Tinubu has on Monday, June 19, 2023, retired all Service Chiefs, Inspector General of Police, IGP Usman Alkali Baba, Comptroller General of Customs, Col. Hameed Ibrahim Ali (Retd.), Advisers, and several others.

CONVERSEER learned that this was contained in a press release signed by Mr Willie Bassey, Director, Information for Secretary to the Government of the Federation, SGF George Akume.

The statement stated that new officers, advisers, and others were appointed to fill the vacant spaces.

“President Bola Ahmed Tinubu, GCFR, has approved the immediate retirement of all Service Chiefs and the Inspector-General of  Police, Advisers, Comptroller-General of Customs from Service as well as their replacements with immediate effect”, the press statement read in part.

The newly appointed Officers are:

1. Mallam Nuhu Ribadu – National Security Adviser

2. Maj. Gen. C.G. Musa – Chief of Defence Staff

3. Maj. T.A. Lagbaja – Chief of Army Staff

4. Rear Admiral E.A. Ogalla – Chief of Naval Staff

5. AVM H.B. Abubakar – Chief of Air Staff

6. DIG Kayode Egbetokun – Acting Inspector-General of Police

7. Maj. Gen. EPA Undiandeye – Chief of Defense Intelligence

8. Adeniyi Bashir Adewale – Acting Comptroller General of Customs

President Tinubu also approved the following appointments:

1. Col. Adebisi Onasanya – Brigade of Guards Commander

2. Lt. Col. Moshood Abiodun Yusuf – 7 Guards Battalion, Asokoro, Abuja

3. Lt. Col. Auwalu Baba Inuwa – 177, Guards Battalion, Keffi, Nasarawa State

4. Lt. Col. Mohammed J. Abdulkarim – 102 Guards Battalion, Suleja, Niger

5. Lt. Col. Olumide A. Akingbesote – 176 Guards Battalion, Gwagwalada, Abuja

In a similar vein, the President also approved the appointments of other Military Officers in the Presidential Villa as follows:

1. Maj. Isa Farouk Audu (N/14695) – Commanding Officer State House Artillery

2  Capt. Kazeem Olalekan Sunmonu (N/16183) – Second-in-Command, State House Artillery

3. Maj. Kamaru Koyejo Hamzat (N/14656) – Commanding Officer, State House Military Intelligence

4. Maj. T.S. Adeola (N/12860) – Commanding Officer, State House Armament

5. Lt. A. Aminu (N/18578) – Second-in-Command, State House Armament

President Bola Tinubu also approved the appointments of two (2) additional Special Advisers, and two (2) Senior Assistants, namely:

1. Hadiza Bala Usman – Special Adviser, Policy Coordination

2. Hannatu  Musa Musawa – Special Adviser, Culture and Entertainment Economy

3. Sen. Abdullahi Abubakar Gumel – Senior Special Assistant, National Assembly Matters (Senate)

4. Hon. (Barr.) Olarewaju Kunle Ibrahim – Senior Special Assistant, National Assembly Matters (House of Representatives)

It is to be noted that the appointed Service Chiefs, the Inspector-General of Police and the Comptroller General of Customs are to act in their positions, pending their confirmation in accordance with the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.

Get Faster News Update By Joining Our: WhatsApp Channel

Frank Ulom
Frank Ulom
Frank Ulom is an experienced Journalist, Blogger and Writer with several years of experience. His stories are based on community development and have brought positive change across board.

Latest News