Wednesday, 17 July 2024.

Top 5 This Week

Related News

APC’s Inyang reclaims Akamkpa/Biase Federal Constituency seat

By Frank Ulom

Dr Emil Inyang of the All Progressives Congress, APC has acclaimed his victory for the Akamkpa/Biase Federal Constituency rerun election.

Inyang reclaimed the seat after polling 2,483 votes in the Saturday, February 3, 2024 rerun election, taking his total tally to 15,930 votes.

Meanwhile, Inyang’s challenger, Austine Aidam of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, who challenged the first victory at the court, polled 1403 votes to take his tally to 12,417 votes.

CONVERSEER learned that results from the Collation Centre show that APC won in 15 polling units while PDP won in 4 in the rerun.

Recall that Inyang was declared winner of the Saturday, February 25, 2023, Akamkpa/Biase Federal Constituency election on 27 February 2023 by the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC.

Recall also Aidam had challenged Inyang’s victory at the Election Petition Tribunal, EPT Court on 11 September 2023, and was declared the winner of the Akamkpa/Biase Federal Constituency seat.

READ ALSO | APC’s Inyang reclaims Akamkpa/Biase Federal Constituency seat

Inyang went to the Appeal Court and the appellate court in November 2023 affirmed the ETP judgement declaring Aidam winner pending when a rerun in some polling units of the Federal Constituency will be held.

Final Result For The Akamkpa/Biase Federal Constituency Election

Main Election Results in 2023 after EPT verdict/deductions

APC – 13,447
PDP – 11,014
LP – 6,4002

Supplementary Election Results in 2024

APC – 2,483
PDP – 1,403

Total = Main (M) + Supplementary (S)

APC: 13,447 (M)+ 2,483 (S) = 15,930

PDP: 11,014 (M) +1,403 (S) = 12,417

Get Faster News Update By Joining Our: WhatsApp Channel

Frank Ulom
Frank Ulom
Frank Ulom is an experienced Journalist, Blogger and Writer with several years of experience. His stories are based on community development and have brought positive change across board.

Latest News